Alumni of the Year

Alumnus of the Year

Since 1990 the Bishop Lynch Alumni Association has recognized those graduates who have embodied the Bishop Lynch tradition and Dominican heritage of service to the community. The Alumnus of the Year should show a commitment to the school and its missions and should serve as a model to all of what Christ has called us to become.
The criteria for the Alumnus of the Year Award includes excellence in the following areas:
  • Service to Bishop Lynch High School
  • Service to the community
  • Success in his/her chosen field

List of 2 news stories.

  • Lauren Shircliff Caton- Class of 1982

    As a dedicated servant to her community Lauren has displayed the attributes of an Alumni of the year for decades. She is the principal at a small Catholic school called St. Therese in Deephaven Minnesota with a large task. In the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis, there is no superintendent or mandated curriculum, nor is there any financial, marketing or other kind of diocesan assistance. The school is independent, and Lauren takes responsibility for everything. 
    Read More
  • Thomas G. Yoxall – Class of 1984

    It’s difficult to find a man with more passion and love for his life, faith and family than Tom Yoxall. Truth be told, that amount of care is borderline supernatural and his impressive qualities and accomplishments only reiterate that compassion. Tom graduated from Bishop Lynch in 1984 and went on to graduate with honors from the University of Texas and the SMU Dedman School of Law. After law school, he worked one year as a judicial law clerk for the Honorable John McBryde in the United States District Court for the Northern District of Texas. He then joined Locke Lord LLP where he has been practicing for nearly 25 years. 
    Read More

Recipients of the Alumnus of the Year Award include:

1990 – David Roffino ’70 
1991 – Cecelia Birkenback Reed ’69 
1992 – Paul Rottman ’75 
1993 – Joe Longoria ’77 
1995 – Kit Hoolan Sawyer ’77 
1996 – Dan O’Connell ’70 
1997 – Brian Teichman ’75 
1998 – Mike Salerno ’72 
1999 – Terry Miller May ’74 
2000 – John Farrell ’75 
2001 – Jim Hodges ’73 
2002 – John Nelka, Jr. ’70 
2003 – Maurice Keane ’81, Kevin Keane ’83 
2004 – Curtis Jaska ’73 
2005 - Kathleen Farrell Blaydes ’71 
2006 – Mary Sansone Schaar ’78 
2007 – Dennis Doughty ’74 
2008 – Bishop Michael Duca ’70 
2009 – Jim Rager ’67
2010 – Lisa Gillock Matthews '78
2011 – Steve Malouf '72
2012 – Jim McIngvale '69
2013 - Peggy Hoffman ’86, Walter “Wally” Stock ’66, Andy Zihlman ’72
2014 - Darlene Doxey Ellison '84, David Campisi '87, James McIntyre '87
2015 - Gene Schaefers '77, Stephen Arata '84
2016 - Monica Rochester '83, Jeff Brown '88, Nick Martin '01
2017 - Sandy Sellers Stansbury '82, Kevin Bailey '00, Justin Wren '05


The Alumni Development Office uses a variety of print and digital media to share news about the school and upcoming events. We encourage you to keep your contact information updated by contacting Deb Jaska, Bishop Lynch's Community and Alumni Relations Director, by emailing